State of Play on March 9 Will Focus on PS4, PS5 Games from Japan

PlayStation has announced a new State of Play digital showcase for Wednesday, March 9, 2022 that will focus on PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5 games from Japanese developers. The March 9 State of Play will only last about 20 minutes, so these Japanese PS4 and PS5 games might come and go pretty fast. Some developers from outside of Japan will share game updates as well. Sony has already clarified that PlayStation VR2 (PSVR2) games and hardware will not appear at the event.

The specific games we will see at this event have not been revealed. It has been a long time since we received a major update on Final Fantasy XVI, but Square Enix said to expect one this spring. Spring doesn’t begin for another couple weeks, but maybe the month of March is close enough? Alternatively, Square may show off more of Forspoken, which hit a delay just yesterday. Or it could offer a new look at tri-Ace’s Star Ocean: The Divine Force.

News from another major Japanese publisher like Bandai Namco seems likely for the State of Play as well. With all of the anime franchises it maintains as games, it just seems like a safe bet. Meanwhile, a pie-in-the-sky, ain’t-gonna-happen hope is that Konami will show up to announce the intensely rumored new silent Hill game with Hideo Kojima.

The March 9, 2022 PlayStation State of Play digital showcase will be available to stream on Twitch and YouTube at 5:00 pm ET / 2 pm PT / 11:00 pm CET.

Leave a Comment