How to Block and Report Users Using Your PS4 or PlayStation App

Is another PSN user causing you grievance? Thankfully, you can block such people through your PS4 and PS app. Let’s dive in.

Multiplayer gaming can be a great way for you to make new friends with common interests, but it can also be a way to receive abuse or spam from other users.

If you have a PlayStation Network account, you may have received unwanted messages and be wondering whether you can block and report somebody. You can, and it’s very simple.


How to Block and Report Somebody on PlayStation 4

Blocking someone using your PS4 can be done in a few simple steps:

  1. Go to Posts.
  2. Go to the Group you have with the user you want to block and scroll over any message so that you’re highlighting it.
  3. Press Options.
  4. From the side menu that pops up, press block.
  5. You can leave the group by pressing tick on the associated checkbox, and/or pressing block.

You’ve now blocked the user, meaning they are unable to see you online or send messages to you. Keep in mind that you can reverse this at any time by going to their Profile and pressing Unblock.

If you’re finding yourself the target of multiple harassing users, you may want to consider changing your PS4 profile picture and username in order to make it harder to find again.

If you want to report a particular message from the blocked user, you will have to:

  1. Go to Posts.
  2. Go to the Group with the blocked user.
  3. Scroll until you’re highlighting the message you want to report, then press Options.
  4. From the side menu, press Postponement.
  5. Press Next.
  6. You will be asked why you want to report this. If you select It is annoying or not interesting you will be advised to Adjust Privacy Settings, Block Playerand Leave Group. If you select I think it should not be on PlayStation Networkyou will be asked to elaborate further on how the message is offensive.

You can also report a user’s profile by:

  1. Head to their profile, press Optionsand then Postponement.
  2. You’ll be asked what you want to report, which could be either in-game behavior or creations, outside behavior or creations, or something in the user’s profile.
  3. When you’ve selected what you wish to report, press Next.

You will now have reported their profile, leaving it at the hands of PlayStation’s moderators to review your report. Note that the moderators usually message you with a decision regarding whether they acted on your report.

Keep in mind that they do not react kindly to frequent false reports, but always follow your gut when you believe you’ve been sent inappropriate messages or content from another user.

How to Block and Report Someone on the PlayStation App

There are many things you can do on the PlayStation app, including blocking or reporting users. To block or report a user do the following:

  1. Open the PlayStation app.
  2. Tap and open the GameBasethen tap on the Group with the user you intend to block.
  3. Tap the user’s Profile Icon then tap Profile.
  4. Tap the ellipsis and then blockthen block again from the window that opens up.
  5. You can also tap the ellipsis to then tap Postponementwhere you’ll be asked to specify more through the options they give you.


The system for reporting or blocking users on the PlayStation app could be streamlined, but it is pretty simple to do this and prevent the user from causing you any more problems.

To report a user’s individual message, do the following:

  1. Open the PlayStation app.
  2. Tap and open the GameBasethen tap on the Group with the user you intend to block.
  3. Hold tap on the message and then tap Report Message from the menu that appears.
  4. You will be asked to specify whether you’re reporting because the message was annoying or should not be on the PSN Network. The former will give you suggestions to Leave Group, Block Userand Adjust Privacy Settingswhereas the latter will categorize different types of inappropriate content which you can then select before filling out the report.

No More Unwanted Interactions on the PlayStation 4

By following the steps, you will have blocked and/or reported a user or their messages to you. This should mean that you get some peace now and don’t have to worry about interacting with mean users, but if you ever find yourself in this position in the future you can always follow the steps again.


It can be alarming to face inappropriate content online, and even more alarming if it’s your child facing it. If you’re a parent worried that your child will encounter an inappropriate user on the PS4 again, then you could consider setting up parental controls.

Leave a Comment