PlayStation’s State of Play returns next week with a 30-minute broadcast

Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE) has announced it will stream a new State of Play presentation on Thursday, June 2.

Viewable on Twitch or YouTube, the first State of Play presentation in over two months will start at 3pm PT / 6pm ET / 11pm BST (12am CET on June 3).

It will include nearly 30 minutes of announcements and updates on PlayStation games.

“We’ll have some exciting reveals from our third-party partners, plus a sneak peek at several games in development for PlayStation VR2,” said SIE content communications senior manager Brett Elston.

PlayStation Plus Monthly Games – PS5 & PS4 – May 2022

During a PlayStation business briefing on Thursday, SIE CEO Jim Ryan claimed the company was experiencing “unprecedented demand” for PS5.

According to the platform holder, three US retailer events saw PS5s being sold at a rate of nearly 1,000 units per minute while they were available.

Ryan said Sony is “planning on a significant ramp up in PS5 production this year”, although he noted “Covid-related uncertainties persist”.

Note: To display this embed please allow the use of Functional Cookies in Cookie Preferences.

During the same presentation, Ryan said PlayStation’s recent acquisition spree is “not at all finished” and that Sony plans to have more than 20 games ready for the launch of PlayStation VR 2.

He also said PlayStation will release two unannounced live service games before April 2023, and that the company expects half of its annual releases to be on PC and mobile by 2025, by which time it will be splitting its investment evenly between existing franchises and new IP .

Despite some launch issues, Ryan also claimed the initial market reaction to the new PlayStation Plus service has been “extremely positive”.

Sony Pictures Entertainment announced on Thursday that the company is working on adaptations of God of War, Horizon and Gran Turismo.