Next week’s free Epic Games Store title will be Cris Tales

Cris Tales has been announced as next week’s free Epic Games Store title.

Normally priced at £34.99 on Epic’s digital marketplace, the “indie love letter to classic JRPGs” will be available free of charge from February 24 until March 3.

Cris Tales will replace of Brothers – A Tale of Two Sons, which is currently free to download until 8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm GMT on February 24.

Cris Tales – Overview Trailer

The Epic Games Store gave away 89 free titles last year (down from 103 in 2020), with a combined worth of $2,120.

According to Epic, users claimed over 765 million free games in 2021. 76 free games broke their peak concurrent user records on PC, with an average of 13 times their all-time records, it claimed.

The Epic Game Store’s user base reached 194 million last year, up from 160 million a year earlier, the company said last month.

It claimed this week that “there are now over 500 million Epic Games accounts, with 2.7 billion friend connections across Fortnite, Rocket League, and the Epic Games Store.”

Epic recently filed a trademark for the ‘Epic Games Megaverse’. It covers a wide range of goods and services and is presumably an umbrella term for Epic’s vision for the metaverse.

“It’s too early to say exactly how the metaverse will take shape, but we see it as a shared social 3D world with persistence, discovery, moderation, and commerce,” the company said in this week.

“It will be an evolution of the internet as we know it, and its foundations will be built on real-time 3D technology.”